Killer Clowns

Last month, a number of my El Crucero girls were all a-twitter about some threats of “killer clown” attacks they had been hearing (and were repeating). According to word of mouth, these killer clowns were going to wreak havoc at a local school. They were also, supposedly, going to be out on Halloween night, killing at random.

My girls believed these stories and were scared. I firmly told them on several occasions that there is no such thing as killer clowns–they are a myth, an urban legend meant to scare people. “There is nothing to fear,” I confidently told them.

And of course, Halloween came and went with no killer clown episodes whatsoever.

Fast forward to yesterday afternoon when I arrived at homework help and two of my girls greeted me with the question, “Did you hear who won?”

“Yes, I heard.”

“Now we are going to have to move to Mexico.”

“But your mom was born here, wasn’t she?” I ask.

“Yes, but our dad was wasn’t. And —–‘s family is from Guatemala. They are going to be sent away.”

I asked the girls to remember how worried they had been about the killer clowns.

“You were worried for nothing, weren’t you? Don’t be afraid. Just because someone says something doesn’t make it true. One person doesn’t have the power to say something and have it magically happen.”

I full-well know that deportation is not, nor has it ever been, an impossibility for members of these children’s families, but I don’t want them to be consumed with worry about all the what-ifs. Mostly, I want them to know that I have hope that all will be okay.

“Let’s pray for your dad,” I say and they nod in happy agreement.

Then this morning, a friend sent me this picture of a letter that was handed to a child at a local charter school–the same charter school that SIX of my El Crucero middle school girls attend.

 

ugly-letter-2

I don’t think I have to express how horrified I am by this letter.

Friends, if the church won’t take a stand against hate and fight for sake of those who have no power to fight for themselves, then who will?

This morning,  I’m praying. I’m praying that what I’ve told my girls is true. I pray that they are safe and I pray that their families are safe; because after reading this note, I’m beginning to worry that maybe killer clowns are real.


I think you’ll find that virtually no one who holds hands with the poor and downtrodden feels happy about the outcome of this election.

My blogosphere is full of important posts this week. One post that expresses much of my feelings/thoughts is by Stephanie–a young woman who grew up as a missionary kid in South Africa and now lives in Texas: To my friends who are relieved today.

And here’s a heart-exposing post from an African American brother: Longer Still (Post Election Reflections of a Black Man amongst the Evangelicals)

Another is written by a blogger who lives in the Portland area among refugees: Day 8 and Day 9.

And from my blogger buddy who often sleeps out in the cold with the homeless and has a swinging door of foster children passing through his house these days: You Heard it Here First Folx!

The truth is that Jesus-followers are not limited to the either/or’s of our world and culture. Jesus always offers a third way–a way of humility, compassion and integrity. I long for the church to exert its energy, not on culture wars, but on finding and following that third way. Marantha!

7 thoughts on “Killer Clowns

  1. AMEN! Amen to yours as well. An excellent and insightful post. You illuminate wounds for me that I was not seeing too. I am praying…

    Thx for this post. It is a blessing for a dark day.

    Agent X
    Fat Beggars School of Prophets
    Lubbock, Texas (USA)

    Like

  2. I’m glad I’ve finally had a chance to read your post, Brooke. I join you in your prayers and your apologies. Praying that our Jesus will cast out fear with his love- and that his love will be manifest in his church. Be of good courage, our God is at work still. Somehow. xx

    Like

  3. BrookeM,

    I shared a link to this post with several of my friends and family. I figure at least a few of them popped in to see it. I just got feedback from one (the only one to give it so far) and it was very negative. Made me think I should offer my encouragement yet again to you.

    Please know that I was very disappointed with the election results. But I planned for that either way, really, because I was no Clinton enthusiast either. In fact if she had won, there would have been a whole other segment or two of society (esp. Christians) who would feel demoralized and/or disenfranchised by that result, and I would have shared SOME – at least a few – of those concerns too. So, I was preparing for disappointment and concerns either way.

    That said, Trump’s win is the more alarming for me, and largely because of the kind of impact you describe on the kind of people you describe, and I am fully aware that Church People largely supported that impact!

    I care.

    But I am also praying for Trump. I am praying for reconciliation among Americans. That is a tall order now, but I step carefully everywhere I step with that in mind. I will side with the poor, the vulnerable, the children etc when push comes to shove, but I will seek a peaceful advocacy as far as I can.

    And I appreciate your post. I want to encourage you. You and your kids are in my prayers tonight.

    X

    Like

  4. Thank you, Agent X! Encouragement is often the best gift we can give and I am grateful for yours! I did not vote for (or support) Clinton, either. I’m not sure I would have felt as bad if she had won, though, because I would not have seen the church as having helped get her there.

    It took me a few days, but I’ve finally been able to hand over my anger to God and let it go. It was very healing for me to go Sunday night and sit with my middle school girls and listen to them. Their hearts were not nearly as angry as mine.

    They did, however, tell me about times when other kids have said mean things to them and about how the election wars have played out at their schools. After a few stories, I chuckled when one of the girls blurted out (with no obvious malice or anger in her tone) that “white people are mean” and then patted me on the shoulder adding, “except for you, of course.”

    I also listened to their fears about what will happen to them if their parents get deported. I was able to tell them about what steps I plan to take to make sure I can legally bring them home with me if such a thing happens. My husband said much the same thing to his group of 30 boys. I deeply, deeply hope, though, that their families can stay intact!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

